Diary of Church Festivals

For an updated list of services, including preachers and readers, please see our Calendar of Events.

Sunday 6 January 2019: Epiphany

10am: Family Eucharist with St Michael’s Choristers
6.30pm: Evensong

Sunday 3 February 2019: Candlemas

10am: Family Mass with Procession
6.30pm: Evensong and Benediction 

Sunday 24 February 2019 : Choral Mass and Confirmation

10am: Choral Mass
Celebrant & Preacher : The Rt Revd Michael Marshall, Hon Assistant Bishop

————————————————————————————-

Lent 2019
Lent at St Michael & All Angels

‘And when you pray’
The Sunday morning sermons will focus on the practical theology of the Gospels for contemporary Christian life.
During the week there will be opportunities for communal silent prayer before the Sacrament,

At 6.30pm Evensong throughout Lent, ‘How I pray…’
– some personal reflections on the life of prayer.

Lent Lunches – Sundays at 12.30pm:
Lunch in various homes in the Parish,
to raise money for our Lent Charities Appeal

Wednesday 6 March 2019: Ash Wednesday

12.30pm Mass and Imposition of Ashes
5pm Children’s Service and Ashing
8pm Solemn Mass and Imposition of Ashes

Sunday 10 March 2019: Lent 1

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Evensong: Fr David Adamson, Assistant Priest of St George’s, Southwark

Sunday 17 March 2019: Lent 2

10am  Parish Mass
6.30pm Evensong: Terri Miller

Sunday 24 March 2019: Lent 3

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Evensong: Fr Alan Trigle, Assistant Priest, St Nicholas, Chiswick

Sunday 31 March 2019:
Mothering Sunday, Lent 4

10am Family Mass with St Michael’s Choristers and distribution of flowers
6.30pm Evensong: Anne Mower

Sunday 7 April 2019: Passion Sunday

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Evensong: Mother Eileen McGregor, Associate Vicar, St Nicholas, Chiswick

———————————————————————————-

Holy Week

Sunday 14 April 2019: Palm Sunday

10am Choral Mass and Palm Procession
6.30pm Evening Prayer

During the first part of the week, the Vicar will explore the meaning of the Passion of Christ.

TO BE UPDATED BELOW

Monday 15 April 2019: Holy Monday

8pm Mass & Address

Tuesday 16 April 2019: Holy Tuesday

8pm Mass & Address

Wednesday 17 April 2019: Holy Wednesday

12.30pm Mass
8pm Mass & Address

Easter at St Michael & All Angels 

(Click here for details of Easter at St Michael’s for Children)

The Triduum – The Great Three Days

Led by Fr John Gibaut, Director of Unity, Faith and Order in the Anglican Community

Thursday 18 April 2019: Maundy Thursday

10.30am Chrism Mass at St Paul’s Cathedral
8pm Solemn Mass of the Lord’s Supper
The Washing of Feet, Stripping of the Altars and Watch at the Garden of Repose

Friday 19 April 2019: Good Friday

12 noon Children’s Passion
A dramatic and moving telling of Christ’s journey to the cross. Children are encouraged to take part and stay for hot cross buns afterwards.
1pm Stations of the Cross
2pm The Liturgy of the Lord’s Passion

Sunday 21 April 2019: Easter Day

5 am Dawn Vigil and First Mass of Easter
(followed by Parish Breakfast)
10amParish Eucharist of Easter for all the family
6.30pm: Evensong and Benediction

————————————————————————————–

Sunday 28 April 2019

10am: Parish Mass
11.30am APCM – Annual Parochial Church Meeting

Thursday 30 May 2019: Ascension Day

10am Mass
5pm Children’s Mass
8pm Choral Mass

The Bedford Park Festival
Friday 8 June – Sunday 23 June 2019

Saturday 8 June 2019: Green Day Fete

11am Opening of the Festival and Church Fete on Acton Green
(opposite church)

Sunday 9 June 2019: Green Day Fete and Mass on the Green

10.30am Open Air Mass on Acton Green, Feast of Pentecost
Preacher: The Most Revd Barry Morgan, former Archbishop of Wales
Noon: Green Day Fete continues
6.30pm: Evensong and Benediction

Sunday 16 June 2019: Feast of the Most Holy Trinity

10am: Mass
6.30pm: Evensong & Benediction

Thursday 20 June 2019: Corpus et Sanguis Christi

8pm: Solemn Pontifical Concelebrated Choral Mass and Procession of the Blessed Sacrament
Preacher: Fr Stephen Stavrou, Vicar of St Michael & All Angels, Barnes

Sunday 23 June 2019: Festival Mass

10am Solemn Sung Mass, on the 140th anniversary of St Michael’s,
with Festival Choir and Orchestra
Music: tba
Followed by Lunch in the Vicarage Garden
6.30pm: Evensong

Monday 15 July to Friday 19 July 2019: Pilgrimage

Parish Pilgrimage to the Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham

Sunday 18 August 2019: Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary

10am Choral Mass and Procession
6.30pm  Evensong and Benediction

The 10th Chiswick Book Festival
Thursday 12 September – Monday 16 September 2019

Sunday 15 September 2019

10am Parish Mass
Preacher:
6.30pm Choral Evensong and Benediction

Sunday 29 September 2019: Patronal Festival

10am Procession from Acton Green, Choral Parish Mass & Skirmish
(Children please come dressed as St Michael or an Angel)
Preacher: The Bishop of Kensington, the Rt Revd Graham Tomlin
6.30pm Choral Evensong and Benediction

Sunday 6 October 2019:
Harvest Thanksgiving

10am Family Mass with the Presentation of Gifts

Tuesday 8 October – Thursday 17 October 2019: Parish Pilgrimage to Romania

Fr Kevin Morris will be leading a pilgrimage to Romania. If you are interested, please contact the Parish Office.

Sunday 13 October 2019: Charities Sunday

Friday 2 November 2019: All Souls Day

12 Noon Requiem Mass

Requiem Masses are offered in November for the departed.
Names to be commemorated at any of these services may be written on the lists at the back of the church.

Sunday 3 November 2019: All Saints Day

10am: Family Mass
6.30pm: Evensong & Benediction

Sunday 10 November 2019:
Remembrance Sunday

9.45am Requiem Mass and Procession to the War Memorial
6.30pm Evensong

Sunday 24 November 2019: Feast of Christ the King

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Evensong

————————————————————————————–

ADVENT AND CHRISTMAS
Christmas at St Michael’s

Sunday 1 December 2019: Advent Sunday (the Church’s New Year)

10am: Family Mass
6.30pm Advent Carol Service
A contemplative service of carols, scripture, music and poetry to reflect on the coming of Christ

Sunday 15 December 2019: Advent 3

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Nine Lessons and Carols – traditional service with readings, carols, choir and processions followed by mulled wine and mince pies

Monday 24 December 2019: Christmas Eve

4pm Children’s Crib Service: Children are invited to come dressed as angels, shepherds, kings etc – come early to get a good seat or play a full part.
10.30pm Carols at the Church door
11.30pm Midnight Mass 

Tuesday 25 December 2019: Christmas Day

10am Parish Mass of Christmas
for the family, with Choir and mini-pantomime homily.