Diary of Church Festivals

Steiners-Mass-873px x 376px-1

For an updated list of services, including preachers and readers, please see our Calendar of Events.

Sunday 8 January 2017: Epiphany

10am: Family Eucharist with St Michael’s Choristers
6.30pm: Evensong

Sunday 29 January 2017: Candlemas

10am: Choral Mass with Procession
6.30pm: Choral Evensong and Benediction 

Sunday 26 February 2017 : Confirmation

10am: Choral Mass
Celebrant & Preacher : The Rt Revd Michael Marshall, Hon Asst Bishop

————————————————————————————-

Lent 2017
Lent at St Michael & All Angels

‘Being Christian’
The Sunday morning sermons will focus on the theology of Christian Discipleship: Baptism, Bible, Eucharist, Prayer

At 6.30pm Evensong throughout Lent, ‘Why me?’
– members of the congregation give personal
reflections on their life and faith.

6.30pm Stations of the Cross on Fridays in Lent

Lent Lunches – Sundays at 12.30pm:
Lunch in various homes in the Parish,
to raise money for our Lent Charities Appeal

Wednesday 1 March 2017: Ash Wednesday

12.30pm Mass and Imposition of Ashes
5pm Children’s Service and Ashing
8pm Solemn Mass and Imposition of Ashes

Sunday 5 March 2017: Lent 1

10am Parish Eucharist
6.30pm Evensong: Why me? Layla Cook

Sunday 12 March 2017: Lent 2

10am  Parish Mass
6.30pm Choral Evensong: Why me? Timothy George

Sunday 19 March 2017: Lent 3

10am Choral Mass
6.30pm Evensong: Why me? Fiona Dunn

Sunday 26 March 2017:
Mothering Sunday, Lent 4

NB: Clocks go forward
10am Family Mass with St Michael’s Choristers and distribution of flowers
6.30pm Evensong: Why me? Sue Jordan

Sunday 2 April 2017: Passion Sunday

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Evensong: Why me? Dinah Garrett

———————————————————————————-

Holy Week

During Holy Week, Fr Edward Barlow will explore the meaning of Christ’s Passion and its relevance for contemporary Christians

Sunday 9 April 2017: Palm Sunday

10am Choral Mass and Palm Procession
6.30pm Evening Prayer
7.30pm Sacred Concert: ‘Jesu Meine Freude’ – JS Bach

Monday 10 April – Sunday 16 April
Holy Week and Triduum

Monday 10 April 2017: Holy Monday

8pm Mass & Address

Tuesday 11 April 2017: Holy Tuesday

8pm Mass & Address

Wednesday 12 April 2017: Holy Wednesday

12.30pm Mass
8pm Mass & Address

Easter at St Michael & All Angels 

(Click here for details of Easter at St Michael’s for Children)

The Triduum – The Great Three Days

Thursday 13 April 2017: Maundy Thursday

10.30am Chrism Mass at St Paul’s Cathedral

8pm Solemn Mass of the Lord’s Supper
The Washing of Feet, Stripping of the Altars and Watch at the Garden of Repose
Preacher: Canon John Record

Friday 14 April 2017: Good Friday

12 noon Children’s Passion
A dramatic and moving telling of Christ’s journey to the cross. Children are encouraged to take part and stay for hot cross buns afterwards.

1pm Stations of the Cross
2pm The Liturgy of the Lord’s Passion
Preacher: Canon John Record

8pm Tenebrae
 – a contemplative service for Good Friday with pictures, prayers, readings and music.
* Please note this service will be at St Peter’s Acton Green, on Southfield Road. All welcome

Sunday 16 April 2017: Easter Day

5.00 am Dawn Vigil and First Mass of Easter
Preacher Canon John Record
(followed by Parish Breakfast)

10amParish Eucharist of Easter for all the family, with Easter egg rolling!

6.30pm: Evensong and Benediction

————————————————————————————–

Sunday 23 April 2017

10am: Parish Mass
11.30am APCM – Annual Parochial Church Meeting followed by Parish Lunch

Thursday 25 May 2017: Ascension Day

10am Mass
5pm Children’s Service
8pm Choral Mass

Sunday 4 June 2017: Feast of Pentecost

10am: Choral Mass
6.30pm: Evensong & Benediction

The 50th Anniversary Bedford Park Festival – 1967-2017
Friday 9 June – Sunday 25 June 2017

Saturday 10 June 2017: Green Day Fete

11am Opening of the Festival and Church Fete on Acton Green
(opposite church)

Sunday 11 June 2017: Green Day Fete and Mass on the Green
Feast of the Most Holy Trinity

10.30am Open Air Mass on Acton Green
Preacher: The Rt Revd Graeme Knowles, Hon Asst Bishop of St Edmundsbury
Noon: Green Day Fete continues
6.30pm: Evensong

Thursday 15 June 2017: Corpus et Sanguis Christi

8pm: Solemn Pontifical Concelebrated Choral Mass and Procession of the Blessed Sacrament
Preacher: Fr Stephen Coleman, Asst Priest, St Paul’s Winchmore Hill

Sunday 25 June 2017: Festival Mass

10am Solemn Sung Mass, with Festival Choir and Orchestra
Music: tba
Followed by Lunch in the Vicarage Garden
6.30pm: Evensong

Monday 10 July to Friday 14 July 2017: Pilgrimage

Parish Pilgrimage to the Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham

 

Sunday 13 August 2017: Feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary

10am Choral Mass and Procession
6.30pm  Evensong and Benediction

The 9th Chiswick Book Festival
Thursday 14 September – Monday 18 September 2017

Sunday 17 September 2017

10am Parish Mass
Preacher: Fr Mark Oakley, Canon Chancellor of St Paul’s Cathedral
6.30pm Choral Evensong and Benediction

Patronal Festival

Sunday 24 September 2017: Patronal Festival

10am Procession from Acton Green, Choral Parish Mass & Skirmish
(Children please come dressed as St Michael or an Angel)
6.30pm Choral Evensong and Benediction

Thursday 28 September 2017 : Feast of Title

8pm: Choral Solemn Mass
Preacher: Very Reverend Nicholas Frayling, Dean of the Order of St John

Sunday 1 October 2017:
Harvest Thanksgiving

10am Family Mass with the Presentation of Gifts

Monday 2 October 2017 – Wednesday 11 October: Parish Pilgrimage to Greece

Fr Kevin Morris will be leading a pilgrimage to Greece  ‘In the footsteps of St Paul.’ Some places are still available. If you are interested, please speak to the Vicar or the Parish Office.

Sunday 15 October 2017: Charities Sunday

10am Choral Mass

Monday 2 November 2017: All Souls Day

8pm Requiem Mass

Requiem Masses are offered in November for the departed.
Names to be commemorated at any of these services may be written on the lists at the back of the church.

Sunday 5 November 2017: All Saints Day

10am: Family Mass
6.30pm: Evensong & Benediction

Sunday 12 November 2017:
Remembrance Sunday

9.45am Requiem Mass and Procession to the War Memorial
6.30pm Evensong

Sunday 26 November 2017: Feast of Christ the King

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Evensong

————————————————————————————–

ADVENT AND CHRISTMAS
Christmas at St Michael’s

Sunday 3 December 2017: Advent Sunday (the Church’s New Year)

10am: Family Mass
6.30pm Advent Carol Service
A contemplative service of carols, scripture, music and poetry to reflect on the coming of Christ 

Sunday 17 December 2017: Advent 3

10am Parish Mass
6.30pm Nine Lessons and Carols – traditional service with readings, carols, choir and processions followed by mulled wine and mince pies

Sunday 24 December 2017: Christmas Eve

10am: Parish Mass

4pm Children’s Crib Service: Children are invited to come dressed as angels, shepherds, kings etc – come early to get a good seat or play a full part.
11.00pm Carols at the Church door
11.55pm Midnight Mass

Monday 25 December 2017: Christmas Day

10am Parish Mass of Christmas
for the family, with Choir and mini-pantomime homily.